Download PDF or PNG

The Four Phases of Disaster Management

Download PDF or PNG

A quick summary of the 4 phases of disaster management: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.

1. Mitigation

This phase includes a variety of actions that will prevent or reduce the cause, impact, or consequences of a disaster.

2. Preparedness

The preparedness phase involves planning and training for scenarios that cannot be mitigated.

3. Response

The response phase involves taking action immediately after a disaster occurs.

4. Recovery

The recovery phase involves restoration and the resumption of regular operations and activities.